a walk to remember !

  walk to rememberI take my wallet
I pick up my shawl
I wear my walking shoes
I decide to take a stroll
I walk ahead
And take the right turn
I walk on da dirty streets
The big bungalows make me burn
With envy and greed
To want more and more
As if I could own an ocean
And never return to the shore
I take the next turn
I see the busy market
Vendors in the mood
To sell out all the packets
I see the kids playing
Riding their favourite bikes
And housewives dressed to impress
But talking about price hikes
I smile and walk some more
Locate some places of worship
Wonder if I should pay my respects
Or make a quick exit.
I walk some more
And hear some wedding bells
Turn the other way round
To avoid an encounter with hell.
I see the sun setting down
Behind the biggest hill
I wish I could walk some more
Or better, never to go against my will
To walk away from this world
To run away while I can
Before they turn to me
To change me from who I am!

34 thoughts on “a walk to remember !

  1. Sakshi, that was definitely a walk to remember… I turn the other way around, too, when I hear wedding bells! 😉 I am especially enamoured with the flow and force of your conclusion

    “Behind the biggest hill
    I wish I could walk some more
    Or better, never to go against my will
    To walk away from this world
    To run away while I can…”

    It reminds me of verses penned by Frost, very eloquent and simple yet probing. As Robert Frost felt, I believe that I, too, have “a lover’s quarrel with the world”. And so I identify with your poem. Your image of the draw of material things, of religious forces, the world’s view of happiness and self-fulfillment (church bells), yet the spurning of all such as a snare of mundane desire. Magnificent thoughts you have shared with us today! Thank you, Sakshi. 🙂 Eric

    • Hi Eric,

      Thank you for so generously appreciating my effort.. This poem has lots of meanings be it the wedding bells or kids riding their bike…they all remind me of a place. This one is in the memory of that..

  2. “To want more and more
    As if I could own an ocean
    And never return to the shore”

    I love the words, the emotion that they convey, the simplicity of it all. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

